Delegation Vienna, OSCE

Local time Vienna
4:38 AM
Ambassador Ulrika Funered and State Secretary Jan Salestrand at theopening session of the FSC under Sweden’s Chairmanship, Vienna, 5 September 2018
Ambassador Ulrika Funered, Major General Trond R. Karlsen and Commander Klaus Randrup Credit: OSCE/Micky Kroell

Sweden takes over the chairmanship of the OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation

07 Sep 2018

Transparency and openness will be the main theme of Sweden’s chairmanship of the OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation (FSC). The opening session under Sweden’s chairmanship was held on Wednesday 5 September 2018 at Hofburg, Vienna. “Sweden believes that challenges to European security must be met through deepened co-operation and joint action. But on a national level, every country must accept its share of the responsibility”, said Mr. Jan Salestrand, State Secretary to the Minister for Defence, Sweden, during his opening statement.

View more news

Event calendar

  • 31 Dec 2017
    Once a week the 57 member states of the OSCE meet at the Permanent Council in Vienna, to discuss developments in the OSCE area. The Permanent Council is one of the main decision-making bodies within the organisation. At these meetings the EU also makes its statements.

Do you want to know more about Sweden?

Suspected irregularities

Report to the MFA

If you suspect that a crime or irregularities have occurred in connection with Swedish Foreign Service activities, please report to MFA Head of Compliance.

Read more

Welcome to Sweden

Plan your holiday on Sweden's official website for tourism and travel information.

Visit Sweden
Study in Sweden

Universities in Sweden is the official resource on higher education in Sweden for international students.

Study in Sweden
Swedish Foreign Policy Stories

Swedish Foreign Policy Stories

Stories about Sweden and our foreign policy.

Swedish Foreign Policy Stories