Alternate Text

Permanent MissionUN, New York

Local time 7:53 PM

UN in a Brief

The United Nations (UN) is an international organization founded in 1945 and is currently made up of 193 Member States. Its objectives include maintaining international peace and security, protecting human rights, delivering humanitarian aid, promoting sustainable development, and upholding international law. The current UN Secretary-General, and the ninth occupant of the post, is Mr. António Guterres of Portugal, who took office on 1 January 2017.

The Six UN has Principal Organs

  1. The General Assembly, which includes all of the 193 Member States.
  2. The Security Council (UNSC) with five permanent and 10 selected Member States.
  3. The Secretariat, headed by the UN Secretary-General. 
  4. The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) which includes 54 Member States.
  5. The International Court of Justice in The Hague.
  6. The Trusteeship Council.

In addition, the United Nations system includes a number of agencies, funds and programmes, for example, UNICEF (United Nations Children's Fund), UNDP (United Nations Development Programme), WFP (World Food Programme) and UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees).


To read more about the UN:


Last updated 12 Apr 2022, 10.33 AM