Extension of temporary entry ban to the EU via Sweden due to COVID-19

17 Jun 2020

Today the Government decided to extend the temporary entry ban to the EU via Sweden until 30 June. The decision was taken following a recommendation of the European Commission. The aim of the entry ban is, as previously, to mitigate the effects of the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 virus and reduce the outbreak of COVID-19.

The temporary entry ban began to apply on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It has subsequently been extended twice in accordance with the recommendations of the Commission. The Government has now decided on a further extension of the entry ban until 30 June.

There have been no material changes to the entry ban by today's decision. In the same way as before, the entry ban essentially applies to all foreign citizens travelling to Sweden from all countries except EU Member States, the United Kingdom, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

Swedish citizens are not affected by the entry ban. Nor does the entry ban prevent travel within the EU. In addition, there are two important exemptions to the entry ban. Firstly, EU citizens and people who have a residence permit in Sweden may still enter the country for the purpose of returning to their homes. Secondly, people with particularly urgent needs or who are to carry out essential functions in Sweden may enter the country. This may be healthcare professionals, staff transporting goods or people with imperative family reasons, for example.

For more information: https://www.government.se/press-releases/2020/06/extension-of-temporary-entry-ban-to-the-eu-via-sweden-due-to-covid-19/

Last updated 18 Jun 2020, 12.58 AM