Contact / Opening hours

Postal address

13, Mohamed Mazhar St.
Zamalek, Cairo

Visit us

13, Mohamed Mazhar St.
Zamalek, Cairo

Phone

+20 2 2728 9200
Number for visa and migration
+20 2 2728 9270

Fax

+20 2 2728 9260

E-mail

General Email
ambassaden.kairo@gov.se
Visa & Migration Email
ambassaden.kairo-visum@gov.se

The switchboard is open: Sunday-Thursday 09.00-12.00

The phone number to the switchboard is: +20 2 2728 9200

The Embassy is closed on Fridays and Saturdays. 

 

PASSPORTS/CITIZENSHIP/COORDINATION NUMBERS

Opening hours for applying and collecting Swedish passports/ID-cards, citizenship and "samordningsnummer"/coordination numbers: Monday and Wednesday 09.30-11.30 (appointment required).

Telephone hours for questions regarding Swedish passports and citizenship: Sunday-Thursday 9.00-12.00.

 

LEGALISATION 

Opening hours for legalisations: Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday 09.30-11.00.  

 

Please note that all fees related to passports and legalisations should be paid by card at the Embassy.

 

MIGRATION/VISAS/RESIDENCE PERMITS

Opening hours for Public inquiries regarding visa and migration: Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday 09:30-11.00.

Applications for visas should be submitted at VFS Global (appointment required).

Appointment for Residence permit applications or interviews should be booked through the following appointment form: 

Book an Appointment

Telephone hours for questions regarding visas and Migration: Sunday-Thursday 13.00-14.00.

 

CONSULAR EMERGENCY

In case of a consular emergency during office hours, please call the consular emergency phone: +20 1282810408

In case of an emergency outside office hours, please call the Embassy switchboard at 02 2728 92 00. Select your desired language, followed by pressing 9 and then 0 to be connected to the Ministry for Foreign Affairs in Stockholm.

What constitutes a consular emergency?
Cases of death, severe illness/injury, or other matters where a person's life or health is in danger constitute consular emergencies.

 

Holidays

The following are the Embassy's official holidays for 2022 (holidays marked * are subject to possible change according to official announcement):

  • Thursday 06 January
    Coptic Christmas
  • Thursday 27 January
    Revolution 25 January
  • Sunday 07 April
    European Easter
  • Sunday 24 April
    Coptic Easter
  • Monday 25 April
    Sham El-Nessim
  • Monday 02 May
    Eid el-Fitr*
  • Tuesday 03 May
    Eid el-Fitr*
  • Thursday 05 May
    Labor Day
  • Thursday 30 June
    Revolution Day
  • Sunday 10 July
    Eid el-Adha*
  • Monday 11 July
    Eid el-Adha*
  • Sunday 25 December
    Christmas
  • Monday 26 December
    Boxing Day