• English

Sweden & Egypt

Regional Programme for the Middle East and North Africa

The development cooperation in the MENA region is mainly focused on regional and sub-regional initiatives. It is concentrated to three areas: democratic governance, gender equality and human rights; sustainable utilisation of transboundary water resources; and regional economic integration.

Regional Programme for the Middle East and North Africa

In the spring of 2016, the Swedish government adopted a new Regional Strategy for Sweden's Development Cooperation with the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) 2016–2020. Countries of focus include: Algeria, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia and Yemen.

Swedish support to the region will, according to the strategy, be concentrated to three areas of cooperation:

  1. Democratic governance, gender equality and human rights
  2. Sustainable utilisation of cross-border water resources
  3. Regional economic integration

The Swedish development cooperation in the region will mainly include regional and sub-regional initiatives and be limited to countries classified as developing countries by the OECD.

Sweden also has specific strategies for cooperation with Palestine and Iraq. In addition, Sida also provides humanitarian support, in particular to Syria and Yemen.

For more information about Sida:

Development and aid

Sweden has a long tradition of generous and ambitious development aid. Development cooperation is about helping to enable poor people to improve their living conditions. Swedish development aid is often channelled through international organisations such as the UN and the EU. Humanitarian assistance refers to Sweden’s activities to save lives, alleviate suffering and maintain the human dignity of those affected by natural disasters, armed conflicts or other similar circumstances.