Joint Statement on the occasion of the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia*

17 May 2024

Chisinau, 17 May 2024 – On the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia, which is marked today, we express our solidarity and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) persons in the Republic of Moldova and around the world, many of whom continue to face discrimination, violence and hate speech on the basis of their sexual orientation, gender identity or expression and sex characteristics.

Every state has the responsibility to protect its people from violence and discrimination and to ensure the full and equal enjoyment of human rights, regardless of their sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, or sex characteristics.

Equality, diversity and non-discrimination are part of our core values and we must act to defend these values. We reaffirm our commitment to respecting, promoting and protecting the human rights and fundamental freedoms of all, including the right to non-discrimination and the right to peaceful assembly. We will continue to support and promote anti-discrimination measures, including measures to address hate speech and hate crimes, in close co-operation with authorities and civil society.

In June, the 23rd LGBTI “Moldovan Pride Festival” will take place, including a “Solidarity March”, to promote and to celebrate equality for all. We look forward to a peaceful and safe “Solidarity March” and continued progress toward equality for all persons in the Republic of Moldova. We hope the central message of “Moldova Pride” will be heard loudly and clearly: everyone should be able and free to be themselves, no matter who they are or whom they love.

* The joint statement is issued by the missions of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italia, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.







Last updated 17 May 2024, 11.41 AM