Joint Statement on the occasion of the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia in the Republic of Moldova*

17 May 2018

Chisinau, 17 May 2018 - Everyone - without distinction of any kind - is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, including the right to be free from discrimination and the right to freedom of expression, association and peaceful assembly.

Every country has an obligation to promote and protect all human rights and fundamental freedoms. It is the duty of each government to protect all persons, irrespective of sex, sexual orientation or gender identity, from discrimination and violence as well as ensure that all persons enjoy equal opportunities and equal treatment.

On the occasion of the International Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia, we express our support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) persons in the Republic of Moldova.

We note that the 17th LGBTI Festival “Moldova Pride” is currently taking place. As the values of tolerance and respect for diversity are fundamental to open democratic societies, we recognize the right of LGBTI-persons and their supporters to conduct the Solidarity March on  19 May 2018 peacefully.

Each day, individuals face discrimination because of their sexual orientation or gender identity. Our governments seek to combat such discrimination by promoting the human rights of all. Everyone, including lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex persons should be free to enjoy the rights and freedoms to which all individuals everywhere are entitled.

We look forward to a peaceful and safe Solidarity March and continued progress toward equality for all persons in Moldova.

* The joint statement is issued by the missions of Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States to the Republic of Moldova.

Last updated 15 May 2018, 4.53 PM