• English

Sweden & New Zealand

The Schengen Area

If you are a citizen of a country outside of the EU/EEA or Switzerland (usually referred to as a “non-EU citizen”) who wants to visit one or more countries in the Schengen Area for a total period of up to 90 days, you may require a Schengen visa.

The Schengen Area is an area within the EU that encompasses almost all EU Member States, including Sweden, and a few associated non-EU countries. The Schengen States (countries in the Schengen Area) have abolished their internal borders and share a common external border. 

The EU has established a common visa policy for transit through or intended stays in the territory of a Schengen State of no more than 90 days in any 180-day period, and for transit through the international transit areas of airports of the Schengen States. 

Citizens from some non-EU countries are required to hold a visa when travelling to the Schengen Area. The EU has a common list of countries whose citizens must have a visa when crossing the external borders of the Schengen Area, and a common list of countries whose citizens are exempt from the visa requirement.

Non-EU citizens who are exempt from the short-stay visa requirement, can visit Sweden and other Schengen States visa-free for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. The stay in the Schengen Area can be for 90 consecutive days, or divided into several shorter stays. Please note that to enter an individual Schengen State visa-free, other entry requirements may apply. 


Schengen, borders and visa (europa.eu)

List of foreign citizens who require Visa for entry into Sweden - Government.se

Last updated 20 Nov 2023, 10.19 AM