• English

Sweden & Australia

Bilateral visa-exemption agreement with Australia

Citizens of Australia are exempt from the short-stay visa requirement in the Schengen Area, and can visit one or more Schengen States (Schengen countries) visa-free for up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

The EU has established a common visa policy for transit through or intended stays in the territory of a Schengen State of no more than 90 days in any 180-day period. 

If an individual EU Member State has a separate visa-exemption agreement (also known as “bilateral visa-exemption agreement”) with a non-EU country, citizens of the non-EU country may remain in the individual EU Member State for an additional period of time once 90 visa-free days have been used in other Schengen States.

Sweden has a valid bilateral visa-exemption agreement with Australia. Citizens of Australia may travel to and stay in Sweden visa-free for up to 90 days, regardless of previous stays in another non-Nordic Schengen State. A stay in Sweden or another Nordic Schengen State during the last 180 days will be counted towards the time period of visa-exemption.

Example: A citizen of Australia who has stayed visa-free in France for 90 days may travel to Sweden and, by invoking the agreement, stay in Sweden visa-free for an additional 90 days. However, the same citizen may not invoke the agreement if the visa-free stay was in Norway. 

Last updated 05 Jul 2023, 1.57 PM