Extension of temporary entry ban to Sweden until 31 August 2020 and easing of restrictions for more travellers

02 Jul 2020

To mitigate the effects of the spread of COVID-19 and reduce the outbreak, a temporary ban on entry to the EU via Sweden is in force. The Government today decided to extend the entry ban until 31 August 2020. At the same time, the Government decided to ease the restrictions for more travellers. The decision was taken following a Council of the European Union recommendation.

The temporary entry ban came into force on 19 March and initially applied for 30 days. It was subsequently extended following European Commission recommendations. The Government has now decided to further extend the entry ban until 31 August 2020.

The Government also decided to ease the entry restrictions. Entry is now allowed for EU citizens and people with Swedish residence permits regardless of the purpose of travel. The previous requirement that those entering Sweden must be returning home is removed. The group of people allowed to enter has also been expanded since people living in certain specified countries outside of the EU are now exempted from the entry ban. 

As of 4 July, the entry ban does not apply to people who:

  1. are an EEA citizen or a citizen of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland or the Vatican City;
  2. have long-term resident status in Sweden or another EU Member State;
  3. have a permanent residence permit in Sweden or another EEA state, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland or the Vatican City;
  4. have a national visa for Sweden or a national visa valid longer than three months in another EEA State, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland or the Vatican City;
  5. have family ties as specified in Chapter 3a, Section 2, first paragraph, or Chapter 5, Section 3, first paragraph, points 1–4, or Section 3a of the Aliens Act (2005:716) to a person covered by any of points 1–4 or to a Swedish citizen, or
  6. live in one of the following countries:
    (however, if the person comes from a country subject to  Swedish visa requirement, a visa should be obtained before travelling to Sweden).
  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Canada
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

In addition, the entry ban does not apply to people with an essential need or function in Sweden. For example, this may be the case for:

  • healthcare workers, researchers in health and medical care and elderly staff;
  • frontier workers;
  • seasonal workers in the agricultural, forestry and horticulture sectors;
  • personnel transporting goods and other staff in the transport sector;
  • people covered by Chapter 2, Section 10 of the Aliens Act (2005:716);
  • people who work in international organisations or are invited by such organisations and whose presence is necessary for the organisations’ activities, military personnel, aid workers and civil defence staff;
  • passengers in transit;
  • people with imperative family reasons;
  • seafarers;
  • people in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reasons;
  • people who travel for the purpose of studying; and
  • highly skilled workers, if the job the alien is to perform cannot be postponed or performed remotely.

The above list of people who can be considered to have an essential need or function is for illustration only and there may therefore be other categories of people who may be exempted.

It is the responsibility of the enforcing authorities (primarily the Swedish Police Authority) to determine in each individual case how the exemptions are to be interpreted and which decisions are to be made. The purpose of the measure is to mitigate the effects of the SARS-CoV-2 virus. This is a temporary measure.

The amendments will enter into force on 4 July 2020.

>For more information please read the press release of the Swedish Government here.
> and the Questions & Answers with more detailed information here.

Last updated 02 Jul 2020, 3.15 PM