Amendments to the entry ban to Sweden

08 Jul 2021

On 30 June 2021, certain amendments to the Entry ban to Sweden came into force, which includes that residents of Serbia can travel to Sweden with a mandatory negative test result on Covid-19 that must not be older than 48 hours prior to entry.

The Swedish government has decided to extend the temporary entry ban to Sweden for travelers from certain countries within the European Economic Area (EEA) and certain other countries.

As of June 30, changes also apply to the entry ban decision, which means that persons residing in the countries listed below can enter Sweden with a negative test result on Covid-19 which must not be older than 48 hours prior to entry.

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • Macao
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand    

From 12 July, these changes will also apply to the following countries:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Jordan
  • Qatar
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Saudi Arabia

In addition to the mandatory negative test result on Covid-19, the traveler must present proof of citizenship (passport) or residence (residence permit) in one of the above countries that are exempted from the general ban on entry into Sweden. Vaccination certificates or certificates of recovery after Covid-19 are not accepted.

For travelers from the EU/EEA, and also from Switzerland, the Vatican, Andorra, San Marino and Monaco, digital EU Covid certificates are introduced in the form of a vaccination certificate. Travelers from these countries must present negative test results that are not older than 72 hours prior to entering Sweden.

>More information about the entry ban and travelling to Sweden can be found here. 


Last updated 08 Jul 2021, 2.53 PM