Temporary entry ban to Sweden and changed procedures for visa application due to entry ban

28 May 2021

The temporary entry ban began to apply on March 19, 2020 and concerns non-essential trips to Sweden from countries outside the EEA and Switzerland. The purpose is to prevent the spread of the corona virus. The entry ban has been extended a number of times. At the moment the entry ban is in force until August 31, 2021.

From November 19, 2020 the following persons are exempted from the entry ban*:

  • Swedish citizens;
  • EEA-citizens (including citizens of Andorra, Vatican, San Marino and Monaco) and citizens of Switzerland;
  • persons who have long-term resident status in Sweden or another EU Member State;
  • persons who have a residence permit in Sweden or another EEA state, Andorra, Vatican, San Marino, Monaco or Switzerland;
  • persons who have a national visa for Sweden or a national visa valid longer than three months in another EEA state, Andorra, Vatican, San Marino, Monaco or Switzerland;
  • persons with family ties to the above-mentioned categories (see Q&A). 

The entry ban does not apply to people who have particularly urgent needs or who are to carry out essential functions in Sweden. For example, this may be the case for*:

  • healthcare workers, researches in health and medical care and staff working with the care of elderly;
  • frontier workers;
  • seasonal workers in agricultural, forestry and horticulture sector;
  • personnel transporting goods and other staff in the transport sector;
  • diplomatic officials and certain paid consular officials and their families and employees;
  • couriers of foreign states;
  • people who work in international organisations or are invited by such organisations and whose presence is necessary for the organisations' activities, military personnel, aid workers and civil defence staff;
  • transit passengers, in case if they do not go through a passport control;
  • people with imperative family reasons;
  • seafarers;
  • people in need of international protection or who have other humanitarian reasons;
  • people who travel for the purpose of studying; and
  • people travelling for the purpose of performing highly skilled work, if their contribution is necessary from an economic perspective and the work cannot be postponed or performed remotely, including people who will take part in or perform necessary tasks at elite sports competitions.

*The decision to restrict entry in each case is made by the Swedish Police responsible for border control. If you have questions about crossing the border in your particular case, you need to contact the Police at +46771141400.

The Embassy also recommends you to contact the Russian border control service to clarify whether you can leave Russia since the Russian government decided on 30 March 2020 to close the external border until further notice.

New visa issuance procedure

Application for a visa can be made directly at the Embassy or at one of VFS Global offices, time booking is required.

The Embassy only issues visas for the categories of persons who are not covered by the temporary entry ban.This applies even if you plan to travel after August 31, 2021.

You can contact the Migration department to get more information about requirements, using the following e-mail address: visa.moscow@gov.se.

Please read the answers to frequently asked questions below carefully. Information is being updated.

Frequently asked questions