• English

Sweden & South Africa


You pay a fee for your visa application. The money is not refunded if your application is rejected.

Fee for visa application

The application fee is tied to the euro and is revised in the event of any major shift in the exchange rate.

Please find below the current price list in South African Rand.

Please note: VFS Global charges a service fee per application, in addition to the above fee for the visa.

How to pay

Applying at VFS Global

If you are applying via VFS Global, you will need to pay the fee directly to them, please visit VFS Global Website for further information.

Applying at Embassy of Sweden

You can pay the visa fee at time of submitting your application at the Embassy of Sweden by using your Visa or Mastercard.

You can also pay the visa fee by a bank deposit to the Embassy's bank account in South African Rand as per price list.  However, please note this must be done in advance of the application and you must bring the receipt with you.

Bank: Nedbank Account name: Embassy of Sweden Account no: 1602 346 933 Branch code: 160245 Branch name: Hatfield, Pretoria Reference: Applicants surname and initial.

Fee exemptions

The following pay no visa fee (GRATIS)

    • The following categories of persons are exempted from the visa fee, in accordance with Article 16 of the Visa Code:
    • Children under 6 years (i.e. until the age of 6 minus 1 day)
    • School pupils, students (university) and their accompanying teachers for purpose of education/studies
    • Postgraduates scholars for purposes of research
    • Students who have been awarded scholarships from Sida or other Swedish or international organizations such as the EU or UN organizations
    • Participants of a Sida International training program (ITP)
    • Representatives of non-profit organisations aged 25 years or younger participating in seminars, conferences, sports, cultural or educational events organised by non-profit organisations.
    • Holders of diplomatic and service passports, (on official travel)
    • Family members of EU*/EEA citizens who fall under the scope of the Directive 2004/38/EC on the right of citizens of the Union and their family members to move and reside freely within the territory of the Member States.

Citizens of countries that have signed visa facilitation agreements with the EU pay a reduced fee or are exempt from payment. This applies to citizens of:

  • Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Georgia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine